FAQsTutorial

How to Remove Multiple Files Using Command Line

The web-based control panels have been one of the key innovations to take place in the web hosting industry. They are the best method for performing certain tasks that don’t require any specific technical background. However, certain tasks can’t be easily achieved using web-based control panels like bulk file management.

Managing multiple files is a bit slower process that needs to be navigated through different directories, more in case of a Linux-based dedicated server, and hosting several domains on it. In this case, using the file manager through the control panel could be troublesome. Luckily, there are specific quick techniques in the dedicated server to make this process hassle-free with the help of SSH (Secure Shell).

If you’re looking to remove multiple files with the help of the command line in a Linux OS, you need to use the command- “rm”; rm stands for remove. To remove a single file, use the rm command in the following way-

rm <yourfilename>

This command prompts you to choose either to move forward or back out. If you’re looking to skip the back out process, just add the “-f” flag to the command for proceeding without confirmation.

If you wish to delete the entire directory, use the following command-

rm –rf <directory name>

in the above command, “-r” indicates “recursive,” and it will delete the entire directory along with the contents present inside it.

If you want to delete only some selected files, then you’ll have to type each of the file name, separated by a single space-

rm <file1> <file 2>

if you wish to remove all the files from a directory, you need to enter the directory and execute the following command-

rm *

Files with specific extensions can be removed with the help of the following command-

rm *. <extension name>

 Also, you can remove a file with a specific word using the command-

rm *enter specific word*

Things that can be performed using the “rm” command are not restricted to the above commands. While using the “rm” command, you need to ensure that you are using the right commands as deleting files with the “rm” command will permanently remove the files from your dedicated servers and these can’t be recovered.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *