Internet Information Services 6.0(IIS 6.0) Features

September 1, 2007 / Web Hosting

Internet Information Services 6.0(IIS 6.0)

  1. Fault tolerance: With its fault-tolerance process, it has increased its platform in the reliability of websites and applications. It has units named application pools which divide the applications from one another. In this regard, if one application fails, it does not affect the other processes.
  2. Application pools : This consists of various URLs that are eventually routed to the main process. These can admin every site consistently and maintain separation from other processes.
  3. Monitoring : This can detect any failures and restart any application when required. This reduces the downtime of the application or processes.
  4. Fail protection : In the case of any application pool failure, it automatically disables the process and sends in a “503 Service Unavailable” error message.
  5. Automatic process recycling : This enables the management of the processes and is assigned accordingly.
  6. Process orphaning : In this case, it leaves the current process and begins a new process.
  7. Uninterrupted TCP/IP connection : In case of failures, the IP/TCP connection remains unaffected.
  8. CPU and process throttling : It reduces the load of the web applications on the CPU to ensure the best performance of the server.
  9. XML configuration data : Every file is converted to XML. This enables easy editing and upgrades.
  10. Edit while running : The configurations can be edited at the time of processing.
  11. Configuration versioning and rollback : All changes made are kept on track and then written to disk.
  12. Configuration import and export : This allows import() and export() of configurations from the node point of view.
  13. Restore to a different machine : This enables to create of backups on a different machine
  14. Administration using the graphical user interface (IIS Manager) : Enables graphical user Interface.
  15. Integration with Microsoft Management Console (MMC) : Integration of IIS 6 with MMC.
  16. Command-line administration : Command-line can used for administration
  17. Script-based administration : It also enables scripting in languages such as VBScript, M JScript, and Perl
  18. Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) Support : It provides full support to WMI
  19. Active Directory Service Interfaces (ADSI) Support : ADSI has a new perspective with IIS 6.0 and changes can made to them
  20. Remote administration : Remote access and administration
  21. Web-based administration : It can also provide access through the Internet over HTML
  22. Binary and Unicode Transformation Format-8 (UTF-8) logging : It also supports log-file writings in UTF-8.
  23. HTTP sub-status codes logging : This helps to debug and troubleshoot issues.
  24. File Transport Protocol (FTP) : It provides isolation to the user directory.
  25. Network News Transport Protocol (NNTP) and Simple Mail Transport Protocol (SMTP) IIS can also set up mail and news services.
  26. Automated patch management Auto-updates and hotfixes without the shutting down of the server.
  27. installation and upgrade: Installation needs to initiated in order to avoid attacks on the web interface and it is disabled at the time of upgrading
  28. Process isolation and recycling: Complete isolation and management of websites
  29. Web Service extensions list: In order to run the extensions, these must entered in web service extension lists.
  30. Buffer and memory-overflow protection: It saves the server memory overflow protection during critical situations safeguarding from attacks.
  31. Default low-privilege account: Maintains a low-privilege account to all the accounts to ease out the operations.
  32. Support for Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) 3.0 and Transport Security Layer (TSL) It also provides SSL and TSL support
  33. Command-line tools not accessible: Command-line is not accessible to users or any other programs.
  34. Content Write protection: It disallows over-writing any website content safeguarding from attackers
  35. File verification: Every file is verified prior to any processing
  36. TCP/IP filters : It also allows TCP/IP Filtering
  37. Data uploads Limitations : IIS 6.0 administrators can limit the amount of data that can uploaded to a server.
  38. Digest Authentication : To maintain security, any data will not passed on a plain-text but as a Message Digest 5 (MD5) hash
  39. Advanced Digest Authentication : Enhances security by storing passwords and credentials in encryptions.
  40. Kerberos version 5 Support : It provide support Kerberos V5
  41. Certificate Services : It can provide public key infrastructure and management of those certifications.
  42. Microsoft Passport authentication : It also supports Microsoft Passport authentications.
  43. Constrained delegated authentication: It can limit authentications to web applications.
  44. Authorization of URL: It eases the management of access controls.
  45. Isolated FTP user: FTP users can isolated from other users.
  46. Server Wizard Configuration: Installation of servers wizards as well as extensions
  47. Microsoft .NET Framework Support: IIS 6.0 supports the Microsoft .NET Framework
  48. Windows Unicode (UTF-8) Support
  49. XML Web Services
  50. ASP Support
  51. ASP.NET
  52. FrontPage Server Extensions (FPSE) Support
  53. Internet Server Application Program Interface (ISAPI) Support
  54. WebDAV and Web Folders Support
  55. IPv6 Support

Hope you have understood the Internet Information Services 6.0(IIS 6.0) Features? For assistance contact the bodHOST support team which is available just for you 24×7. Also, check out the reasonable bodHOST web hosting plans.