How SSDNodes make money?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How SSDNodes make money?

Hello, I noticed SSDNode's website with amazing (too good to be true) costs for a year. Other providers charge much more than SSDNodes' prices for a month.
    So, my question is, how do SSDNodes profit from this?

In most situations, SSDnodes offers attractive pricing when you sign up for their multiple payment cycle, which is what they normally market on their promotions. I've been using them since 2018 for largely development tasks and have had no problems. I don't have much experience with all of their locations since they've grown, but the current VM I'm using is in Dallas, which was one of their early location offers, so I can't comment on the other 7 places they promote.
    To answer your question about how they can offer lower monthly pricing, you will notice that most three methods with a price per year of $99 will cost you around the same price per month if you switch to a month-to-month billing cycle at checkout, which is why they market the price point as incredibly low based on your longer commitment.

Comment

If you look at SSDNodes on TrustPilot, you'll see that things don't look so well for that hosting firm

Comment

I believe they oversell RAM. I have a development server with them, and there is a noticeable lag when I SSH in after not logging in for a time. But it's great after that and definitely worth the money. I'm sure they oversell CPU, but that's something everyone does.
        I've had to submit tech support requests twice in the last year (for separate difficulties), but both times they were resolved within a half-hour. At work, I use far more costly suppliers that can take hours simply to notice a ticket.

Originally, they were using older E5 Xeon servers, which made a lot of sense - purchase used servers, load them with fresh SSDs and inexpensive used RAM, add KVM, and you've got a company.